Gluten Sensitivity Vs. Celiac Disease Vs. Gluten Intolerance

SUPER dry video, but informative and a decent argument.


Gluten-Free Possibilities.

So, there is a distinct possibility that I have celiac disease.  The day I stopped mentioning it to myself and actually started LISTENING to my nagging self about this, I got tested.  Then I proceeded to eat six bagels over the next two days out of some weird mix of denial, rage and desperation.  Seriously, I LOVE bagels.  I love BREAD products.  I MAKE my own bread when I’m not trying to filter it out of my life.

While still in an angry rage, I find myself frantically searching the web, and ingredient labels to see if my favorite foods and snacks have gluten.

Jury says: Pretty much all of them but fresh vegetables.

I even went to the Clif Bar website and found this super-handy-yet-disheartening page that you can use to filter your “needs”.  I’m going to have to eat a box of Clif Bars and a box of Builder bars now….. before I get these results back.  Challenge accepted.

Also, props to Wiki-How for this awesome page that contains reference sheets for gluten-free foods, gluten containing foods AND (the best one) gluten SUBSTITUTIONS!

Now for a few non-comprehensive lists:

Things I’m excited to report as Gluten-Free:

  • Everything at the Gluten Free Mall
  • Wine
  • “spirits” made from wheat, barley, rye etc are considered safe because of the distillation process.
  • Daiya “cheese”
  • Produce!  I guess I’ll be cooking more.
  • Oatmeal (there are various arguments about this having a similar amino profile, but the most compelling one is that it’s processed in the same plant as wheat.  I’m sure there is oatmeal out there that is not.)
  • Rice
  • Quinoa (SO glad I already have an addition to this.)
  • Corn flour: Tortilla chips and corn tortillas (this will help)
  • Beans
  • GF Tempeh (otherwise I’d need a new blog name, right?)
  • Baking soda
  • Nuts
  • Hummus
  • Nut Butters
  • Earth Balance (Vegan Margarine)
  • Tofutti Better than cream cheese and better than sour cream  (While Tofutti does not make the “Gluten Free” claim, they do not add gluten to these products
  • Tofutti Fudgecicles and “Marry Me” bars (what’s with the name?)
  • Tofu
  • Almond Milk

Foods that contain gluten:

  • Clif Bars and Clif Builder Bars
  • Bagels
  • Soy Sauce
  • BEER (Though I have recently seen some GF versions.
  • Most vegan mock meats (Seitan)
  • Obviously wheat products… Bread, flour torillas…
  • Seasoning Blends


Put-In-Bay vegan: Big Man’s Burrito Stand


Funny that I finally get to this after my last day working on the island for the year.

Sticking with the burrito theme I seem to have going, it’s really only appropriate to feature the dear Mr. Ryan Stoiber’s burrito stand that is keenly hidden behind Frosty non-vegan pizza/bar, in the “The Backyard”.

After using my awesome interrogation techniques I’m confident that this place can feed me.  Denis (from Bulgaria) talked to me for probably 45 minutes toward the beginning of summer about every single ingredient.  I trust him.  Mainly because he kept talking about how, as a Muslim, cross contamination really pisses him off.

After this, he made me a burrito with every ingredient that I could possibly have.  This may not have been the best representation of what a more selective palette may achieve, taste-wise, but who cares?

I lost my ingredient list.

No I didn’t.  I actually threw it away after I moved out of housing.  So by “lost” I really mean “if you can figure Chipotle out, you got this, man.”

So…. Salsas, guac, black beans, rice….. that sort of thing.  They do tacos, nachos, burritos.  I bet they’d throw the ingredients at you, if you asked nicely.  I bet they’d enjoy it more if you didn’t ask so nicely.  I digress.

Have at it kids.