So, there is a distinct possibility that I have celiac disease. The day I stopped mentioning it to myself and actually started LISTENING to my nagging self about this, I got tested. Then I proceeded to eat six bagels over the next two days out of some weird mix of denial, rage and desperation. Seriously, I LOVE bagels. I love BREAD products. I MAKE my own bread when I’m not trying to filter it out of my life.
While still in an angry rage, I find myself frantically searching the web, and ingredient labels to see if my favorite foods and snacks have gluten.
Jury says: Pretty much all of them but fresh vegetables.
I even went to the Clif Bar website and found this super-handy-yet-disheartening page that you can use to filter your “needs”. I’m going to have to eat a box of Clif Bars and a box of Builder bars now….. before I get these results back. Challenge accepted.
Also, props to Wiki-How for this awesome page that contains reference sheets for gluten-free foods, gluten containing foods AND (the best one) gluten SUBSTITUTIONS!
Now for a few non-comprehensive lists:
Things I’m excited to report as Gluten-Free:
- Everything at the Gluten Free Mall
- “spirits” made from wheat, barley, rye etc are considered safe because of the distillation process.
- Daiya “cheese”
- Produce! I guess I’ll be cooking more.
- Oatmeal (there are various arguments about this having a similar amino profile, but the most compelling one is that it’s processed in the same plant as wheat. I’m sure there is oatmeal out there that is not.)
- Quinoa (SO glad I already have an addition to this.)
- Corn flour: Tortilla chips and corn tortillas (this will help)
- GF Tempeh (otherwise I’d need a new blog name, right?)
- Baking soda
- Nut Butters
- Earth Balance (Vegan Margarine)
- Tofutti Better than cream cheese and better than sour cream (While Tofutti does not make the “Gluten Free” claim, they do not add gluten to these products
- Tofutti Fudgecicles and “Marry Me” bars (what’s with the name?)
- Almond Milk
Foods that contain gluten:
- Clif Bars and Clif Builder Bars
- Soy Sauce
- BEER (Though I have recently seen some GF versions.
- Most vegan mock meats (Seitan)
- Obviously wheat products… Bread, flour torillas…
- Seasoning Blends